Game Rules

Quick recap of what brought us to this point:

I was cranky. I was convicted. I want to be more thankful, and I want the same for you.

So we’re playing a game for the next 30 days, wherein each day I post a Scripture reading suggested by Choosing Gratitude by Nancy Leigh Demoss, and then post 5 things for which I am thankful. You read the scripture, then comment about 5 things for which you are thankful, because I don’t want you to sit around pondering how grateful you are for the great things in my life. That would be unproductive and maybe a wee bit creepy. I want you to be thankful for all the great things you’ve been given.

I can be kind of competitive, so don’t let this be an easy win for me (because nothing stimulates virtue development like a contest!). Comment even if we’ve never met and never will, or if we don’t know each other very well. I love getting to know new people, even via blog comments. Feel free to comment if you don’t like me–this isn’t about me. I won’t feel the need to take you out to coffee to bond over our mutual time of gratitude development. Don’t let insecurities stop you, as if others won’t be interested. I will read and appreciate every comment, and I’m betting others will, too.

In short, don’t let anything stop you. Even ingratitude. We’re all learning here.

Whew. Cheesy enough for ya?

There’s a reason I never went into cheerleading, and it isn’t my thighs.

Ok, so the ground rules, for those of you with 2.35 second attention spans:

1) Read each new post.

2) Ponder all the great things in your life.

3) Be grateful for them.

4) Pick 5 of them and comment about them.

5) Rinse and repeat daily.

6) Encourage someone else to take on the Gratitude Project! I’m a visionary, if not much of an implement-ary. Why not spread thankfulness all over?

The games begin at 00:00 hours (or whatever hours I get around to it) on July 9th, 2010. Ready?. . .and go!

7 thoughts on “Game Rules

Leave a Reply

