The Gratitude Venture(?) Day 2

Apparently “Gratitude Project” is not a very original title. There’s about 50 million other ones out there, and I don’t want the Plagiarism KGB to slam me (says the girl who is writing an entire blog series from an idea she got out of a book). Thesaurus.com is not helping me find an appropriate substitute. So many options–Venture? Affair? Undertaking? Task? Enterprise? Proposal? *sigh* I may as well name it ‘proposal’, as my eHarmony crash and burn indicates that it’ll be the only proposal in my life for awhile (that was not ingratitude, my friends. I smirked when I wrote it, but there’s no good ’emoti-smirk’. And I would rather wax my eyelashes off than use “lol”).

Ok, so if you’re just joining us, this post will tell you everything you need to know to catch up.

Wir beginnen (I have now transmitted to you all that I can recall from 4 years of German class).

Scripture for the day:

Colossians 1:3, 12; 2:7; 3:15-17; 4:2

1:3 –“We always pray for you, and we give thanks to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

1: 12– “. . .always thanking the Father. He has enabled you to share in the inheritance that belongs to his people, who live in the light.”

2:7–“Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.”

3:15-17–“And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts. For as members of one body you are called to live in peace. And always be thankful.”

4:2–“Devote yourselves to prayer with an alert mind and a thankful heart.”

Notice how the readings of the last two days have included both thanks and peace? Put that on your chin and stroke it. (I have the feeling that won’t sound as clever tomorrow morning as it does now).

Ok, 5 things for which to be thankful.

1) Grace. Truth be told, most of the time I try to resist grace. I can get crabby when I don’t feel in control, and one is never more out of control than when one needs grace. But I’ve desperately needed and received grace so often of late that I can’t help but be thankful for it.

2) Harbison State Forest. I just discovered this little gem a few weeks ago, and have been running there almost daily since. It’s sunny and tree-y, stuffed full of deer, and beautiful. It smells like Pinesol. It restores my soul.

3) Running!! My running career lasted through about 4 months of half-marathon training last year. Then my knee swelled up to the size of my head. I was hoping running in the forest would be a little easier on my knees, and so far, the ol’ knee isn’t putting up much protest, even without a brace! Oh, endorphins, how I’ve missed you!

4) The World Cup. I love, love, love, love, love world-wide sporting events. Anytime such an event is on during the summer, I start to organize my life around it. It has definitely brightened my June/July and made doing my Hermeneutics homework more palatable, though my professor may wonder why such observations as “Dude, why are soccer players all so cute? And such poor actors?” and “C’mon, FIFA, use goal-line technology already!” are scattered through my papers.

5) Air conditioning. It’s hot as (insert cliche of your choice) in SoCar. It’s like the whole state is having a hot flash. I like to pretend my window unit is a campfire and I huddle around it with shaking palms outstretched, soaking in the cold. It’s a beautiful thing.

Ok, y’all! Your turn! 5 things you’re thankful for. . .and go! (Funny story. . .my parents each emailed me their 5 things yesterday. Public commenting is apparently a little bit more intimidating than I thought–so many thanks to those of you who’ve braved it!)

7 thoughts on “The Gratitude Venture(?) Day 2

  1. 1. Ruth, Becca, Melissa
    2. Frye apartment
    3. cool air – without air conditioning!
    4. Eagles
    5. World cup does not clutter my mind

  2. 1) That tonight’s bloody confusion did not necessitate a run to the ER and that Shout does such a good job of getting blood out of couches.

    2) That I am welcome at my friends’ house for multiple days straight and that I am welcome enough that I honestly believe that it is geuine.

    3) That I survived the drive down from Dallas during which I couldn’t see the car in front of me from the rain.

    4) That all the side-effects listed in medicine commercials are not direct effects and therefore most likely won’t even happen. At least the big ones like, for example, death.

    5) Margherita pizza.

  3. Five things I’m grateful for, in no particular order:

    1.) A Fiance who puts up with my damn thick-headed-ness.–I may seem like a chill guy to most folks when it comes to life in general, but there are those days where I fall into a funk and just feel like being an absolute jerk.

    2.) A Job–Although I complain, and whine, I still have a job, unlike so many people in this country. It may not be the job I set out to get, but truly I am blessed.

    3.) Crop-Dusters–This is a strange one to all who live in the modern era, i.e. outside the Palouse (look it up online if you don’t know what this region looks like,) but every I see a crop duster I can’t help but stare at them for long periods of time. They seem like such an anachronism, and make me feel as if I’ve just been transported back sixty or seventy years to a time when the world was so much more optimistic.

    4.) Luna–Our four month old puppy. For every time she frustrates me, there are ten in which she causes me joy.

    5.)Rain–Living in such a dry climate has made me appreciate rain so much. We had an unusually wet spring and everything turned as green as Ireland for a short time.

  4. 1. Rain- the renewing of the earth and the soft pitter patter, or the strong storm.

    2. My class and all of the little darlings I get to teach. And having this job at an unbelievable school. God has really blessed me in this!

    3. Summer and actually having time to do all of the things that I want to do and get caught up on the things I would like to do at school.

    4. Mrs. White’s cooking. Umby’s mom rocks!

    5. The flower in my backyard “garden” aka single flower part, that blossomed unexpectedly.

  5. 1. Amen to the air-conditioner!
    2. The four year old boy who asked me if he could play with my sister:) Yes, you sure can…..hehe! That sure made this 36 year old feel good!
    3. buttered popcorn
    4. funny kiddos who make me die out laughing:)
    5. laughter

  6. Just so you know, this is working as you intended for me, Lauren! I have been more attentive to the blessings throughout my day because I know I “have to” post on this blog at the end. It’s doing wonders and it’s just day 2.

    1) So, obviously, this blog!
    2) That I can pick up objects, trim my own nails and walk. I helped out my neighbor today who can do none of these things without alot of help. I’m humbled and truly grateful.
    3) Rain too! We needed it.
    4) That I have stopped biting my nails for about a month. This is on my daily prayer list and this is the longest I’ve ever gone without relapsing.
    5) For our new piano. None of us can play, but the joy I have gotten from picking out little tunes (my latest, Sherlock Holmes movie theme) is childish… and awesome.

  7. 1) Lord, thank you so much for this period of singleness you have me in now. I was able to walk away from ministry in Charlotte and feel like I could say with Paul that I fought the good fight, I finished the race. It feels good! If I were married, I probably would not have been involved the capacity I was.

    2) Lord, thank you so much for blessing me with opportunities to do exciting design work for the past 4 or 5 years (for the most part). I am not sure if I will ever return to it again. But, my life belongs to you and you can do whatever you want with it – even if it means not ever doing any design again.

    3) Lord, thank you for providing me with a job after being unemployed for a year. Thank you for giving me favor in the job. You are glorified!

    4) Lord, thank you for my health. Thank you for the ability to work out, run, and play tennis.

    5) Lord, thank you for being patient with me when I am unfaithful.

Leave a Reply

