The Gratitude Full Court Press, Day 4

“Full Court Press” was one of the synonyms suggested to me when I put the word “endeavor” into Thesaurus.com. I was more amused than is warranted, because it’s way past my bedtime, and I stayed up half the night last night in cold terror that I was going to be murdered, because I had gotten myself engrossed in a terrifying murder mystery before remembering that I live in a dark house on a dirt road in the middle of nowhere. (For the record, it was the bells hanging in the church steeple that killed him. . .the absurdity of that statement as I write it gives me the distinct feeling I may have missed something).

If you’re just joining us, this will give you a recap of what you need to know to start. Or, if you tend to be more Type B in your approach to life, you can just roll with it. We’ll look the other way.

Scripture reading for the day:

Psalm 103: 1-5

1 Let all that I am praise the Lord;
with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name.
2 Let all that I am praise the Lord;
may I never forget the good things he does for me.
3 He forgives all my sins
and heals all my diseases.
4 He redeems me from death
and crowns me with love and tender mercies.
5 He fills my life with good things.
My youth is renewed like the eagle’s!

5 of the things for which I am grateful today:

1) “All hail King Jesus!” Today our church choir sang again after two weeks off. One of the songs we sang was “He Reigns Forever” by the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir. One of the lines is a powerful “All hail King Jesus!” That moment honestly felt like a piece of heaven, in which all thought of and concern for self was laid aside, and all that mattered was announcing the presence of our King. I’m sorry I’m not able to describe it more fully. But it was as close as I think we can get on this earth to what worship is intended to be. It was awesome.

2) Bed. It’s all I can think about right now. And in a few short moments, I’ll be snuggled safely under my fluffy comforter, my teddy bear Zorro tucked under my arm, fast asleep. I’m almost giddy at the thought. Check that–I’m officially giddy. Ear-to-ear-grinning giddy. I’m privileged to have a safe and comfortable place to sleep. Most of the world hasn’t got that luxury.

3) Purpose and redemption. I’ve already mentioned that I’ve hit a bit of a rough patch, otherwise known as “a midlife crisis before you’ve done enough in life to justify it,” about which I may elaborate more when I am coherent. But I am blessed by the reminder that God is a God of redemption. He can and will work to redeem this time, even as I’m completely out of my element. There is purpose in this pain. He is good. Though I may not get detailed answers to my questions, I can come before Him and be comforted knowing that ultimately, He is the Answer. And that’s all I need.

4) I got to talk to three of my dear, dear friends from college today. It was so refreshing. 6 hours straight of insightful, empathic, challenging conversation. I love those women (Women? Weird. Girls? Not quite accurate. What are we? ‘Young women’ sounds very pre-teen. ‘Women’ sounds very “married with kids.” ‘Not yet a girl, not yet a woman’ sounds very Britney Spears. This stage of life is very confusing).

5) A spontaneous World Cup party. I tend to be introverted, and forget how much I do enjoy being around people. After church today I spontaneously invited some people over to watch the World Cup final, and while it was actually one of the least interesting games I’d seen thus far (minus the blatant “cleats-to-chest” action, the yellow cards flying all over, the consistently dirty play, and the baffling decision of some of the long-haired guys to wear their hair loose on their necks. . .), it was so good to watch it with friends.

You know the drill by now! Hit me with 5 things for which you give thanks today. . .and go.

4 thoughts on “The Gratitude Full Court Press, Day 4

  1. How about this…..the scripture that you posted is the same scripture I read early this morning before my hot and humid run. God never ceases to amaze me. Seriously.

    1. That God knows exactly what I need ALL the time. So much so that we read the same scripture without even knowing. Amazing!

    2. The anticipation I feel every morning waiting to read your blog(no pressure, ok;))

    3. I obviously love these :), ;), :o, :D. They probably drive you crazy, but I heart them:D

    4. The red bird that flew right in front of me this morning on my run. Whenever I see one, I whisper His name…Jesus!

    5. my husband. i never thought I would get married. So, the fact that I have been married for the past ten and a half years to a man I deeply love, makes me humbled and eternally grateful. also, how the Lord in His sovereignty, redeemed our married.

    Thank you, Lauren for doing this….it is truly inspiring:);):o:D
    allison

    1. Thank you, Allison, for participating. Your gratitude was, in part, what inspired me to to this in the first place, and I so appreciate your encouragement!

  2. 1) That I set my alarm for a mere minutes before my pastor’s wife called me to say that we are still on for lunch. Because it is preferable that she understand me during such a phone call and, should I not have already been awakened by the alarm, she not be able to understand me as I tried to tell her “no, I don’t hate you and I am very much looking forward to lunch, I just don’t express such emotions well through unintelligible grunts.”

    2) That the youtube video the girls I’m staying with and I watched on the big screen TV last night about an 8 year old who is still nursing does not depict typical life experience. Though I feel that it might have seemed less out of the ordinary to me since I lived in Turkey.

    3) That sharing a living room with someone that you know but not all that well can lead to good 3 am conversation.

    4) That my friend doesn’t mind me being on her computer this weekend.

    5) That I have access to a car, allowing for such weekend trips as this down to Austin. Wonderful.

  3. 1) A washing machine and dryer. Even tho I have to do impressive acrobatics to change loads because of the IDIOTIC way the laundry room was built, I cannot imagine not having those two wonderful appliances.

    2) An extra hour and a half of sleep! My darling son decided to sleep in till 7:30 yesterday morning. Sweet rest.

    3) Internet. So many MANY reasons to be thankful for it. It aids me thru sickness, dinner, those moments when I NEED adult contact in a world of “ring around the rosy” and so much more.

    4) That the Lord’s mercies are new every morning. I needed them yesterday for wasting time when He prompted me not to.

    5) Disposable diapers!!!! No more detail there, if you’re a mother, you are nodding your head vigorously with me here.

Leave a Reply

