The Gratitude Enterprise, Day 5

Another day, another series title. . .I’m sorry, is my fear of commitment showing?

If this is your first time to this series, this is a good place to start.

Otherwise, we’ll just dive right in.

Scripture reading for the day:

Ephesians 5:15-21

15 So be careful how you live. Don’t live like fools, but like those who are wise. 16 Make the most of every opportunity in these evil days. 17 Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do. 18 Don’t be drunk with wine, because that will ruin your life. Instead, be filled with the Holy Spirit, 19 singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs among yourselves, and making music to the Lord in your hearts. 20 And give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

21 And further, submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.

5 things which I was thankful for today:

1) I get to take a mini-road trip tomorrow! I adore road trips with everything in me, and take them whenever I can possibly find the excuse. There’s something about driving down the highway, windows down, butt-dancing to John Legend, that really thrills my soul. I’m so excited!

2) Fresh fruit! I blew my entire grocery budget this week on fruit. I love the stuff. I could live on the stuff. Which is good, because I will be, for at least the next week or two.

3) Dental floss. First of all, because it helped clean the fruit strands from my teeth (I got a little carried away while cutting the pineapple). Also, I credit floss with single-handedly carrying me through the way-too-long intervals between my dentist visits. Without fail, each time I go in, the dentist looks at my chart, says with disgust that I should have come in years ago, then takes about 40 seconds to buff my teeth before saying, “Wow. . .your teeth are really in awesome shape” and letting me go. I really wonder what they would do with themselves if I had come in that much earlier.

4)This dude.

(He’s not a lush. . .he promises! Enjoy the picture while you can, because tomorrow he’s going to call me up and yell long random strings of Turkish insults at me until I take it down.)

Andrew is someone I can lose contact with for years at a time, then call up and talk to as though nothing has changed. He’s the cause of some of the most classic stories of my life.

He’s a great encourager, but also willing to lay the smack down when he thinks I’ve gone wrong. We exchange advice on the opposite sex (but I think mine must be much better than his, because homeboy has developed into quite a little casanova over the years, whereas homegirl. . .not so much). We spend entire conversations one-upping each other and lording major blackmail material over one another. It’s great.

I’ve been incredibly challenged by how he’s changed over the years; his life and his focus are completely different now (in a good way) than they were even 4 or 5 years ago. He’s a good man, Charlie Brown. (And no, there is no “When Harry Me Sally” vibe going on here. His type is ‘sweet brunettes,’ and my type is ‘guys who never saw me in diapers,’ so thus endeth all possibility).

5) My health. My poor mamma has been dealing with a variety of health-related issues of late. . .I’m kind of just waiting for her to call with the news that an important appendage has fallen off. I’ve never had any major health struggles, and besides a few down and out days in Columbia that heal when I take a nap, I haven’t dealt with even many minor health issues, which I know is an unbelievable blessing.

Ok, friends, you’re up: what are 5 things for which you are thankful today?

3 thoughts on “The Gratitude Enterprise, Day 5

  1. 1) For a wonderful last day in Austin. Which included delighting in Jesus at a coffee shop with two beloved friends, which in turn delighted his heart, leading to yet more revelations of himself and so on and so forth.

    2) For getting home and all that it entails, including immediately jumping on Skype to chat with a girl that I sorely missed chatting with. It’d been a whole two days, mind you…

    3) That you have no blackmail material on me. Nope, not a snitch. Or even a smidgen.

    4) For meatball subs made by my momma. Way better than even SubWay.

    5) That I recognize all the places being shown in the Turkey show I’m watching.

  2. 1. Two lovely weekends left in Hawaii. I’m so excited for two weekends to relax and truly enjoy the blessing I’ve been given for the last 4 years!
    2. Coffee. Love the taste, love the company that comes with it.
    3. Job searching. At least I’m trying to be thankful for it. What a perfect opportunity to trust the Lord to provide a job that will pay my bills, be somewhat fulfilling and provide plenty of opportunity to witness.
    4. My ipod. It gives me an opportunity to take heed to verse 19 and worship among myself 😉 . It also allows me to drown out awful music playing elsewhere and avoid bus stop creepers.
    5. Washing machines. Because seriously, would you want to do that by hand?

  3. 1) My Mom. She is such a constant example of servitude, passion and biblical womanhood. It’s such a joy to be her daughter and friend.

    2) Scripture. Just today the Lord showed me thru two distinct incidents how the Scripture is truly ALIVE and POWERFUL! I am in awe. And grateful.

    3) Walmart. This seems very trite after the two above, but I am grateful for a one stop shop when I need it.

    4) My pink mop. It makes cleaning more exciting. I dunno. There’s just something about the color pink that makes me happy. I’m thankful to God for unique things like this about life and the way people work.

    5) Great prayer time with my man tonight. “For where two have three are gathered together in my name, there am I in their midst” in action. 🙂

Leave a Reply

