The Gratitude Attitude, Day 6

Feel free to groan at that title. I did.

Wow. And wow. And wow. This day was right up there with my trip to Chi-town and will go down in history (my own personal one, that is) as one of the best days of my summer.

But we’ll get into that later.

Scripture reading for the day:

Romans 11:33-36

33 Oh, how great are God’s riches and wisdom and knowledge! How impossible it is for us to understand his decisions and his ways!

34 For who can know the Lord’s thoughts?
Who knows enough to give him advice?
35 And who has given him so much
that he needs to pay it back?

36 For everything comes from him and exists by his power and is intended for his glory. All glory to him forever! Amen.

Today was soul nourishing.

5 of the things that made it sparkle:

1) I got to see Michele. I wish I could sum up what that means to me. I met Michele when I went to boarding school at 14. I grasp for words when I try to describe her, for fear that my effusive praise might come off as insincere. She’s an inspiration, my role model, the person I want to be when I grow up. And spending 2 hours of uninterrupted conversation, being challenged and encouraged by her, connecting with her on a soul level, as any good student of Larry Crabb would, was an unbelievable gift. I just felt “full” after talking to her, brimming with hope, joy, peace about the future, etc. One of the things that stuck with me most about today warrants its own post, so stay tuned.

Michele also gave me her newest novel (yes, she’s an author–have I mentioned that I want to be her when I grow up?), for which I had been saving, so I’m extremely happy to finally have gotten my hands on it! (PS: Shameless plug alert–check out her website, to which I linked her name above. Seriously. She’s great and I love her writing).

2) I found my physical therapy prescription!!!!! In February I went to the orthopedist and got a physical therapy prescription for my knee (for insurance and all that jazz). I promptly forgot about it until March, at which point I realized I had lost it. I called the office and arranged to pick up another prescription, which I picked up in April, because I’m really bad at life. I then forgot all about PT, because I was taking Nervous Breakdowns and Something Like Them 101. I assumed the second prescription was in one of the piles of papers on my floor. Today, I turned my room upside down in search of it. It was gone, along with my self-respect and that little blurb about “organizational skills” on my resume. I did, however, find my first prescription, neatly filed away with my important documents. It’s coffee stained and dated 2/19/10, but I think it’ll do the trick. If I hadn’t found it, I’m not sure I would have had the face to call my doctor and ask for a third prescription. I may just have run until my knee blew and the ER would take me.

3) A list of 23 goals. I just posted a list of 23 things I want to do over the next 23 years, per my friend Julia’s suggestion. Seeing those goals in writing, on paper, was really good for me. I’ve been kind of stagnating this summer, and not only was it inspiring to see a future me projected onto paper–seeing the big goals helped me to think of little ways I can start achieving those goals now. I don’t always like baby steps, but sometimes that’s the only way. Also, does anyone wanna go rock climbing with me sometime? I’ll be just terrible, and you can take pictures and blackmail me later.

4) My friend Tarek is visiting America from Australia, and today we connected and started making plans to see each other! I haven’t seen him since we graduated high school, and I’m extremely excited to see him again.

5) Today I got the news that my lifelong friend Joanie is ENGAGED! I’ve been grinning like a fool all day today because I’m so happy for her, for him, for them, for life. I like it so much when people I love are deliciously happy, and it’s been particularly awesome to watch their story unfold. Now I can put the money I had been saving for Michele’s book toward a plane ticket to Turkey next summer. 10 dollars down, 1,490 to go. Whoop whoop!

So what are YOUR five ‘gratitudes’ for the day? Huh? Huh?

5 thoughts on “The Gratitude Attitude, Day 6

  1. 1) That you (or time) have solved the problem that made me able to read this post in my inbox but not find it anywhere on your actual site.

    2) That a horrible miscommunication in which someone was offended by a mass-forwarded email that I had sent to someone else has been cleared up.

    3) That my dog is adorable. And willingly gets in her kennel to go to the vet. And steps onto the scale and sits perfectly while she gets weighed. And doesn’t make a peep while getting shots. Good little Billy Goat.

    4) That my current computer woes that seem so frustrating are not such that I can’t still use my computer. That I have a computer to have woes over, for that matter.

    5) That there is currently food in the kitchen that I could go eat, should I decide that the churning in my stomach is too annoying not to.

  2. Joanie, like Joanie Hoard???? If so, OHMYGOSH HOORAY!!!!! I need details….

    1) My brother-in-law, sister-in-law and two nephews who are visiting us today! Watching the four kids play is nothing but joy.

    2) The beach! Which we visited today. It was hauntingly beautiful today, mostly overcast with patches of sun, teh waves huge and wild… God is awesome.

    3) My amazing summer in China in 2004. I thought about it today while I made fried rice which I was taught to make there. What a spiritually powerful time, definitely something good to remember and be re-inspired.

    4) Clothes… I love them, I love shopping for them (in a intensely thrify sort of way), I love how they describe the person who wears them.

    5) A kitchen to cook in! I LOVE to cook, I love my kitchen, I love food…

    1. YES, Joanie Hoard! To an Englishman. He’s super sweet, she’s completely out of her mind giddy, and it’s hilarious and awesome. Details: He flew in from England to surprise her. And he wore a green shirt when he proposed. That’s all I remember. I’m really bad at details. 🙂

      1. Thats amazing. I saw her last year and she mentioned an English dude with potential… so happy to hear it worked!

  3. Ok, LOVE Gratitude Attitude! I am tired. Long day. Had a thingy cut off my shoulder and it hurts! Here goes:

    1. reading Swiss Family Robinson with my son. LOVE this book:D
    2. did a lot of baking today, I am thankful for food. I know there are so many without.
    3. thankful that my friend already had someone bringing her dinner tonight. i get to take her dinner tomorrow. i was so over today at about 5 o’clock.
    4. i love my little girl in braided pigtails.
    5. my husband cooking dinner

Leave a Reply

