The Gratitude Initiative, Day 7

We may have a title winner, y’all! I feel comfortable enough with “initiative” to possibly stick with it for a day or two.

Scripture for the day:

Luke 17:11-15

Now on his way to Jerusalem, Jesus traveled along the border between Samaria and Galilee. 12As he was going into a village, ten men who had leprosy met him. They stood at a distance 13and called out in a loud voice, “Jesus, Master, have pity on us!”

14When he saw them, he said, “Go, show yourselves to the priests.” And as they went, they were cleansed.

15One of them, when he saw he was healed, came back, praising God in a loud voice.

At one point in her book on gratitude, Nancy Leigh Demoss makes a really good point about the importance of prompt gratitude. It’s very possible that the lepers who did not return immediately were planning to come say “thank you” at some point. But by that time, Jesus had moved on; it was too late.

It made me ponder gratitude from a more eternal perspective. I get one shot at this life. Sure, I’ll have eternity to praise God–but this is the only time in history that I will be given to glorify Him sight unseen, glory veiled. With eternity looming, I don’t want to bank on “later.”

Ok, 5 things I am grateful for:

1) My computer. And the new computer that’s coming my way. During the fall of my junior year of college, my laptop stopped working. Over the next two years, I drove my poor, accommodating roommates crazy by taking shameless advantage of their offers that I use theirs. (Really: shameless advantage–so really the fact that I had great roommates is a huge point of gratitude). Anyway, my parents gave me their old–think antediluvian–laptop for this past year, and that has been a huge blessing–but an even greater blessing is that my parents had pity on me when I told them that it takes over 35 minutes to boot up in the morning, and are loaning me money for a new one. I can’t tell you how thankful I am regarding that. It’s been taking a lot of self-control not to throw it against the wall over the past several months as I’ve watched its demise.

2) Today I ran double what I was able to run two weeks ago. I am thrilled that my body is bouncing back from a year off so quickly!

3) I also finally started research for my big paper about counseling couples in extramarital affairs today. Cheerful, no. Necessary, yes.

4) I have been in at least 3 near auto accidents in the past 2 days. (None of them, surprisingly enough, have been due to my driving). But more importantly, none of them actually happened.

5) Time with my friend Sarah today. She makes me laugh and challenges me. It’s so good for me. Also, fun.

Ok, peeps. You’re up: what are 5 things that made you sing praises today?

4 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 7

  1. 1) A really good post. I liked what you said about praising him now…

    2) Getting to play my favorite game which I only ever get to play with one friend. Did I mention she lives in Toronto now so I rarely get to see her? ‘Twas a good night.

    3) The anticipation rising within me as I look forward to playing EuroRails with my new friends when I get to Germany. A game I get to play even less frequently than the aforementioned MasterMind.

    4) That I can call some of the people that I’ll be with in Germany my “new friends” rather than “some of the people I’ll be working with.”

    5) That I have Thank You cards to write. Which is different than saying that I have to write Thank You cards. Actually, if you read that second iteration a different way than what I intended when I wrote it, it’s an even more accurate description of the thankfulness I feel so I’m going to go with the latter, though I originally wrote it as a point of comparison by which to better understand the former…

  2. Loved your post today too, Lauren.

    1) Less than 5 hours of sleep but almost as many hours of talking in the middle of the night with my sister-in-law. Good times.

    2) A catch up nap provided by my servant-husband (in a spiritual sense… not in the sense that makes me the “master-wife”… I hope).

    3) Playgroup! Watching my kids have a blast is, of course, a blast. But almost nothing makes me more grateful than to see my children, as young as they are, defer to their playmates, respond to me the first time I call and maintain pleasant attitudes.

    4) My friend Katya. It is rare to find smeone who has that same strange balance as me of being somewhat anti-social but wanting to do lots of social things.

    5) That my man works out. Which I’m watching him do right now. I am simply amazed at anyone who can do more than one pushup. Much less 4 sets of 25. With elevated pushup brackets. Without breaking a sweat. Without his shirt on… ok, I’ll stop. 🙂

  3. 1. I slept 8 hours last night. Wonderful. Refreshing. Amazing.
    2. Peace and quiet today. My kiddos are with my in laws:-D
    3. laundry only took 2 hours instead of 5 because the kids were not here.
    4. chicken on the grill cooked by my fabulous hubby.
    5. my sister’s….Anna, Amelia and Susan.

    You are really inspiring me. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

