The Gratitude Initiative, Day 8

Thank you all so much for your feedback–I am so, so glad that this is having the desired effect. I know that I’ve been noticing a huge change in my normally craptastic attitude over the past week. Amazing what a little gratitude will do, eh?

Scripture reading for today:

James 4:6-10

6But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says:
“God opposes the proud
but gives grace to the humble.”

7Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. 8Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded. 9Grieve, mourn and wail. Change your laughter to mourning and your joy to gloom. 10Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.

That is a very interesting passage for Ms. DeMoss to have chosen, eh? Grief, mourning, wailing. . .none of those seem to be part and parcel of a grateful heart. But humility, the recognition of who we are and what we deserve, is a cornerstone of gratitude.

5 things for which I am grateful:

1. Sleep. I haven’t been sleeping well of late (probably all those horrifyingly creepy psychological thrillers I’ve been reading right before bed, or something), but last night, I got a beautiful, uninterrupted (except by my alarm clock. . .15 times) 10 hours of sleep.

2. Sewing. I’ve been able to put some time into sewing of late, and I love it. It’s incredibly relaxing to put on some chill music, pin fabric together, sew, tear out what I’ve sewn because it was wrong, re-pin fabric, sew, and so on and so forth. I tend to enjoy the process of creating more than the act of finishing something I create, so I’m enjoying it even as my Project Runway fantasies shatter.

3. Blueberry muffins. I love them. I made some. I’m eating one. Life is good.

4. Psych is back! There are very few TV shows I will whole-heartedly endorse. Psych is it.

5. Renewed hope each morning. I’m not always good at. . .um. . .accomplishing my to do list for the day. But I love the feeling of waking up in the morning and knowing that I have a whole, uninterrupted day to work through my to do list. Or to accomplish some tasks that I then add to my to do list so I can scribble it off.

Y’all’re up! Whatcha grateful for today?

4 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 8

  1. 1) For internet. So I can read these posts, of course, but also because it affords so many mediums of communication throughout the day. Yesterday I talked to someone using 5 mediums. Twas awesome. 6 if you count sending pictures which supposedly convey 1000 words.

    2) For getting to go to a Mediterranean lunch buffet with my mom today. We’ll see if the food is worth putting on this list later but the hanging out with my mom certainly is.

    3) For having to make a choice between two forms of electronics. That the choice is mine and I can make it even though I don’t actually need either.

    4) For knowing that God knows what he’s doing even if today’s weekly report of support pledges doesn’t reflect the promised 80% necessary for buying my ticket.

    5) For having had a good day, despite the fact that since I wrote the previous four points I found out that the food was not worth being on this list and the report did not show the promised pledges.

  2. Wow, awesome scripture. So needed for me at this very moment.

    1) Hymns! And singing them with my husband like we did last night (dang, he makes it into all of my lists!).

    2) Paddle Board!!! Joel’s (there he is again!) and my new game. Basically ping pong but with an uber bigger paddle, no net and made up rules. LOVE!

    3) Mark 9:24

    4) My king size bed which is currently occupied by my two favorite men (ummm, just to clarify, my hubby and son – whup! mentioned him again…). I love how huge it is even tho between that and our dressers and side tables, we barely have a floor.

    5) That I am able to have a nice, long, hot shower whenever I want. These “small” things would be huge blessings to much of the rest of the world. Humbling…

Leave a Reply

