The Gratitude Initiative, Day 9

Scripture reading for the day:

2 Corinthians 9:6-15

6 Remember this—a farmer who plants only a few seeds will get a small crop. But the one who plants generously will get a generous crop. 7 You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. “For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.” 8 And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others. 9 As the Scriptures say,

“They share freely and give generously to the poor.
Their good deeds will be remembered forever.”

10 For God is the one who provides seed for the farmer and then bread to eat. In the same way, he will provide and increase your resources and then produce a great harvest of generosity in you.

11 Yes, you will be enriched in every way so that you can always be generous. And when we take your gifts to those who need them, they will thank God. 12So two good things will result from this ministry of giving—the needs of the believers in Jerusalem will be met, and they will joyfully express their thanks to God.

13 As a result of your ministry, they will give glory to God. For your generosity to them and to all believers will prove that you are obedient to the Good News of Christ. 14 And they will pray for you with deep affection because of the overflowing grace God has given to you. 15 Thank God for this gift too wonderful for words!

Oh my, how I love this passage. Gratitude begets generosity. Gratitude enables us to trust God’s promises, as we choose to open our eyes to the many ways He has blessed us. Gratitude helps us to open our eyes to the needs around us, as we understand how blessed we are, and how much we have to give to others.

5 things for which I am grateful today:

1) Beach trip with my church today! I’m actually writing this in a hurry, because I’m eager to be off. I’ve even packed some light beach reading about counseling couples through extramarital affairs. We’ll see if the beach inspires me to homework accomplishment. My guess: nope.

2) Sunscreen. Without it, I would be dead by now. You think I’m joking, but I could burn on a sunless winter day in Michigan. In fact, I have.

3) A not-to-painful shopping trip yesterday. I loathe shopping. I’ve had so many shopping related traumas that I get a headache upon entering a mall now. Yesterday, I went shopping for 2.5 hours, and not only got everything on my list, but managed to do so without needing a corner in which to curl up and weep.

4) My friend Heidi. She’s such an encouragement to me, and has been particularly encouraging in my writing, which (beyond le blog), has not been going according to my grandiose plans. She’s good at pushing me without being pushy about it. (Have you noticed that all the friends I’ve written about thus far are willing to kindly challenge me? Makes you wonder how inert I would be without said friends, eh?).

5) Food. I only go hungry of my own initiative, when I’m too lazy to go to the grocery store. What a privilege to be able to find food within 10 minutes in every direction of my house. So many people worldwide don’t have that privilege (and I throw down the gauntlet of “So whatcha gonna do about it?” at myself).

So what about you, friends? What are you grateful for today?

3 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 9

  1. 1. garage sales
    2. Community coffee
    3. blue skies
    4. big fluffy clouds
    5. pistachios

    Short and sweet today. This touch me deeply…”Gratitude begets generosity. Gratitude enables us to trust God’s promises, as we choose to open our eyes to the many ways He has blessed us. Gratitude helps us to open our eyes to the needs around us, as we understand how blessed we are, and how much we have to give to others.” L-Wie:) Really leaning on Christ and trusting these days.

  2. Hope you had fun at the beach! 🙂

    1) My son North. He is such a boy, so needy yet so stuborn, quick to learn, goofy as all get out and unbelievably cute.

    2) Femininity. Wearing a dress, doing my hair, being delicate and dependant. It feels good… particularly today.

    3) The phone!!! What an awesome way to connect with the fellowship of believers all over the world! And to be able to get my “Mom Fix” every single day.

    4) My dishwasher.

    5) God “randomly” sending an AMAZING like-minded family from Louisiana to live here in Virginia just weeks before Joel deploys. Wow.

  3. 1) That the simple fact that I have already done this eight days in a row is getting me to do it tonight. Not that today was a particularly rough day such that I wouldn’t want to. Not even that this is some crucial thing that would render me unspiritual and irresponsible if I neglected it. Just that I will look back later and be satisfied that I didn’t skip a day simply because I didn’t particularly feel like it.

    2) That 285 wedding programs have been tied together with ribbons.

    3) That my free shipping from Zappos was randomly upgraded to next-day.

    4) That one of the four (off the top of my head) problems with my computer had a quick fix.

    5) And last but not least since it’s been on my mind, to the point of distraction, all day – that my friends safely arrived in Kandern. Now to join them…

Leave a Reply

