The Gratitude Initiative, Day 10

I apologize, friends, for the lateness of my posting here. I overslept by 3 (three!!) hours this morning, and then went out to lunch with some friends after church, because I was craving Indian food the way a pregnant woman craves pickles and chocolate. You will be glad to hear that my cravings are satiated, no heads were knocked together prior to the satiation of said cravings, and I am one happy, but oh-so-in-need-of-a-nap girl. I’m becoming increasingly convinced that a dislike of Indian food might be a deal-breaker for me in a future spouse. I take my Indian food seriously.

Anyway. Scripture for today:

1 Corinthians 2:6-11

6We do, however, speak a message of wisdom among the mature, but not the wisdom of this age or of the rulers of this age, who are coming to nothing. 7No, we speak of God’s secret wisdom, a wisdom that has been hidden and that God destined for our glory before time began. 8None of the rulers of this age understood it, for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory.9However, as it is written:
“No eye has seen,
no ear has heard,
no mind has conceived
what God has prepared for those who love him”
10but God has revealed it to us by his Spirit.
The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God.
11For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the man’s spirit within him? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God.

I believe the purpose of Ms. DeMoss including this Scripture reading is to encourage us to look for “hidden” blessings, or those that we take for granted. So here goes:

My five ‘gratitudes’ for the day:

1) Sun. I love the sun. I start to flirt with diagnosable depression if I go too long without it. Thank you, Lord, for the sun. It’s like a legal drug to me.

2) I haven’t had any car trouble since I got my car. That’s really, really good. I know exactly nothing about cars, and wouldn’t know what to do if something went wrong. So I’m just thankful that so far, things are fine with it.

3) Skype. I love Skype. It yields an easy way to keep in contact with my beloved parents. For several years, I talked to my family once a week, each Sunday afternoon. Now, they are at my fingertips anytime between and 12 AM and 4 PM.

4) Me momma. I love her, and can’t imagine a better one for me. She’s an incredible listener, empathic without letting me get away with crap; she’s wise, encouraging and remarkably patient (which can probably be blamed at least partly on me. I wasn’t born with a “patience optional” disclaimer).

5) Clothes to hand wash. I hate hand washing. A lot. But the fact that I have them is a good thing for all parties concerned.

Hm. . .I’m not sure I won the “find hidden blessings” challenge. Mine were more just general blessings. So the gauntlet is at your feet, friends: can you do better?

6 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 10

  1. 1. Unpleasant emotions. Things going on around me frustrate me, break my heart, make me angry. In the moment, I hate feeling that way. Right now, however, I’m so grateful for those feelings. May these feelings drive me toward Jesus, His ministry and His glory.
    2. Electricity. Seriously. It allows me to store food, cook food, charge a cell phone, get on the computer and stay cool (thanks to a fan).
    3. iTunes. Especially the podcasts. How wonderful to be a part of churches across America.
    4. The pastors of these churches. I’m so so grateful that they are allowing God to use them. I need those teachings.
    5. A cold glass of water. No explanation needed.

  2. 1. the sermon that was preached today. it was amazing and felt the Spirit of the Lord all around….especially in my heart:-).
    2. to hear my children talk about the Lord. it makes my heart smile.
    3. finally grasping that walking in faith is letting go of control. it is a daily, moment by moment walk.
    4. Isaiah 45:3 (New Living Translation)

    “And I will give you treasures hidden in the darkness—secret riches.
    I will do this so you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by name.”

    This scripture is very powerful and I found it while I was in school and wondering why in the world God had me at CIU. Now I know that He was teaching and guiding me. I learned so much while I was at CIU. My love for Him overwhelms me.

    5. i am thankful that i didn’t die when i was pregnant with my little girl. i was not a believer at the time, so i am able to see specifically how He saved me. and how painful things have drawn me closer to the Lord. i heart Jesus.:D

  3. 1) Our church. Love it.

    2) Our cars!!! There is a bus stop at the end of our street and I see people waiting there constantly, any weather, and realize how blessed we are to have two cars!

    3) That Adelaide asked to go and actually WENT on the big girl potty today. Yesssssssssssssss.

    4) Not having to make lunch today plus good fellowship while eating it. 🙂

    5) My sister Ellie. She is one of the best mothers I have ever known, is good at anything she tries, is unapologetically herself and makes me laugh like no other.

  4. 1) Water. By far my favorite drink in the world. Definitely the most refreshing. Unless it’s the kind of heat will only relent in the presence of a good ayran.

    2) Toes. They’re awesome. They keep me upright. Balancing like a pro. Well, maybe not. But they do allow me to stay on my feet for the most part.

    3) Rain. Preferably along with a good thunderstorm. One that leaves me unable to not spread my arms wide and take in the glory. Which, as you know, usually makes me look like a raving lunatic.

    4) Dirt. Especially the smell of good dirt and the feel of bare toes in it. You know, a good, thick dark loam.

    5) Trails through woods. Like the ones that are coming soon. Or rather that I’m coming to soon. In Germany. Oh my heart.

  5. I’m joining now! I’ve read all the posts.

    1) Will taking exceptionally long naps on days where I need to get things done

    2) thought provoking reading material – whether it be a book, my Bible, magazine, blog, quote…anything.

    3) rhubarb jam. It’s yumminess in a jar, also provides a great sugar boost for my morning

    4) Shane’s willingness to get up with Will in the morning and let me sleep up to 2 hours more!

    5) our treadmill. I like walking outdoors, but I enjoy controlling my speed as well as knowing how far I’ve gone and how many calories I’ve burned, without the hassle of keeping a log or measuring my route and using loads of math.

Leave a Reply

