The Gratitude Initiative, Day 11

Romans 5:1-11

1Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, 2through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. 3Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.

6You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. 7Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. 8But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

9Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him! 10For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life! 11Not only is this so, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

Well bam. That’ll put a little gratitude in your step, eh?

5 things for which I am grateful:

1) The root of all gratitude: God and my relationship with Him. It’s unfortunate that I often forget how awesome that is and spend a lot of time whining to Him for not making my life go as I would have it. Idiot child.

2) Visiting new cities. One last week, one this week. I’ve got my directions to used bookstores and cool parks lined up and ready to go. With any luck, Tarek and I will be able to find a place that sells baguettes and cheese and buy some for a picnic lunch today in an attempt to re-live our glory days.

3) My high school years. Oh, such good years. While most people conceive of boarding school as something akin to military boot camp, mine was far from it–a place where I was enveloped in one of the most tightly knit communities I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing; a place where I underwent some of the most fundamental growth of my life; a place where I met wonderful people like the previously mentioned Michele and Tarek. I’m so blessed to have had such a rich relational experience at such a young age.

4) Opportunities to serve. I’m exceedingly shy around new people and in new situations, with the definition of “new” including anyone and anything I haven’t known for at least two years. This can obviously have a damper on my willingness to serve with the wild abandon I’d like to have. So even as I force myself to break down some of the barriers to service that lie within myself, I’m thankful for the opportunities that just “fall into my lap,” as it were.

5) Google Maps. It gets me where I need to go with 98% accuracy. I’m also thankful for my friend Zach, who is always on standby during the 2% of times when I get really, really lost and find myself in Alabama when all I wanted to do was find Michigan. I am a very frustrating person to direct, being directionally challenged and unable to translate aural directions into cold, hard action. Zach is very gracious. Zach is going to be waiting by the phone all day today. . .right, Zach?

Ok, mon ami(s), it’s your turn: what are you grateful for today?

(And allow me to reiterate once again how much I love you all and appreciate you for joining in! It encourages me deeply to read your comments).

4 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 11

  1. 1. Thankful that the scripture reading today is the first scripture I ever realized. I grasped on to this for dear life and reading it again today warms my heart.

    2. Thankful that someone is coming to look at my house in 20 minutes.

    3. Thankful that even though my daughter proceed to use the bathroom all over the bathroom. I. DID. NOT. COME. UNDONE. Thank you, Lord.

    4. Encouragement I received from my sister, Amelia this morning.

    5. Prayer. I really do love praying for others. My prayer life has changed over the past year and really helped me grow in my walk with the Lord. My confidence has grown tremendously in Him.

    P.S. Have fun today:)

  2. 1. Safe travels. In the last month I’ve flown from Germany to the U.S. and from IL to CO. I’ve also driven across Kansas and Missouri.
    2. Friends. Young ones, old ones…
    3. Family. My sister drove 6 hours to surprise me upon my homecoming.
    4. Berries: blue, straw, rasp….
    5. God’s amazing patience with me. I am so slow to learn. His lovingkindness is eternal.

  3. If you ever decide to make Hampton a new city to visit, you’ve got a place to stay, Lauren! 🙂

    1) Sunscreen! What a bummer it would be to live by the beach w/o it.

    2) My Dad. One of a kind man. Wise, gifted, willing to forsake everything to stand for what is right, excellent example of a loving husband, faithful father, plus a sense of humor just like mine which makes for good times.

    3) A frame of reference for life! (so I guess, being a Christian) Knowing what to do in any given circumstance is a blessing I’ve definitely taken for granted (even resented at times). How lost I would be day to day (and of course, for eternity) without this path to Christ.

    4) Chick Fila. It is just undeniably good. And my kids love the indoor playplace.

    5) Nightly quiet time with our kids! Watching them learn the joy and discipline of Bible reading, worship and prayer at such a young age is heart-warming.

  4. 1) A faster speed around the lake, despite the extreme wind against us and more pain in the legs. Or maybe because of the pain in the legs…

    2) My mom, who patiently goes through all the stuff with me that needs to be gone through as I head to Germany. Like closets full architecture models and arch and tons of clothes – some of which I have had for 14 years.

    3) The relief I feel after talking with Koerber. I have until Thursday for all the promised pledges to arrive at the offices before my ticket can no longer be held. Yet not only does it look like I will indeed get the required 80% by then, if not, he’s probably going to get it anyway. And then I’ll comment again, saying I’m thankful for finally having a ticket to fly a week and a day from now.

    4) America’s idea of customer service. Zappos gave me a free upgrade on already free shipping just for the heck of it. And Amazon took back a computer battery that did squat when we tried it out, and even paid for return shipping, no questions asked.

    5) My years at BFA. Since you listed it too. Though I guess my latest blog post and the very fact that I am returning are better articulators of my gratitude for that than a simple line saying “my years at BFA.”

Leave a Reply

