The Gratitude Initiative, Day 16

Scripture of the day:

Psalm 30

A psalm. A song. For the dedication of the temple. Of David.

1 I will exalt you, O LORD,
for you lifted me out of the depths
and did not let my enemies gloat over me.

2 O LORD my God, I called to you for help
and you healed me.

3 O LORD, you brought me up from the grave;
you spared me from going down into the pit.

4 Sing to the LORD, you saints of his;
praise his holy name.

5 For his anger lasts only a moment,
but his favor lasts a lifetime;
weeping may remain for a night,
but rejoicing comes in the morning.

6 When I felt secure, I said,
“I will never be shaken.”

7 O LORD, when you favored me,
you made my mountain
stand firm;
but when you hid your face,
I was dismayed.

8 To you, O LORD, I called;
to the Lord I cried for mercy:

9 “What gain is there in my destruction,
in my going down into the pit?
Will the dust praise you?
Will it proclaim your faithfulness?

10 Hear, O LORD, and be merciful to me;
O LORD, be my help.”

11 You turned my wailing into dancing;
you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy,

12 that my heart may sing to you and not be silent.
O LORD my God, I will give you thanks forever.

Today’s gratitudes:

1) That I have a greater purpose on earth than self-fulfillment. Whenever I forget that, I spiral rapidly into a state of mind best described as Whiny Bratdom. It’s not pleasant for anyone, even myself. But whenever I’m convicted to take a step back and recenter my life around God, my outlook is dramatically different. It’s a beautiful thing.

2) That I get a break between my summer classes and fall classes. My little brain is doing backflips of joy as I type that. It is so good to have some hope to push me through these last few weeks. One paper and 1.5 Hermeneutics sections to go. Whoop whoop!

3) I’m thankful that medicine and medical attention are easily accessible to me. While I normally try to avoid all kinds of medications (it’s the hippie in me), I’ve been fighting headaches and a bizarre foot injury for the past few days, and taking an aspirin yesterday made quite a difference for me. Plus, I know that if said foot injury decides to be something serious, I can always go to the doctor. So many people do not have that luxury.

4) For my little brother. He’s the sweetest baby brother in the world. Fiercely loyal, with an off-beat (but hilarious) sense of humor. I love him.

5) For my extended family. My dear Aunt Kathy, for example, is such a servant, and has taken prodigious care of me since I arrived stateside. My grandparents truly demonstrate unconditional love, and my assorted aunts and uncles are alternatively awesome, hilarious, etc., etc., etc. (Wow, that’s vague. The headaches have kind of hijacked this blog, so my apologies).

All right guys, your turn! (Oh, and good job yesterday, by the way. You took that gauntlet and ran with it!).

2 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 16

  1. 1) Steaks and veggies on the charcoal grill!!! YUMMMMMMM!

    2) C.S. Lewis. Even tho he’s long passed and knows nothing of me, he has had a substantial impact in my life over the years. Mere Christianity is a staple in my spiritual diet and Till We Have Faces is so full it makes my head hurt. In a good way.

    3) My bestie Heather. Deep thinker, risk-taker, outside-the-box-er. Against family pressure she has decided to stay home with her three kids and “throw away” her good degree. Then she and her husband decide to just up and move to Japan, just because they want to. Even tho she is not a believer (YET!), it is easy to see who her Maker is when I look in her eyes. Send up a prayer for her (she is seeking Him) if you would.

    4) Love. Its what the world needs now, it’s all you need, it’s what makes the world go round and its Kei$ha’s drug… oh wait, scratch that last one. Seriously tho, seeing the beauty, the strain, the effort and the weakness of human love is moving… and then being enveloped in His agape love is [ ]. There’s no word. I’m indescribably grateful.

    5) My grandma. In the middle of a family that is under the grip of an evil sin, she is the lone voice of Christ. I don’t know how she does it, but she does and I love her.

  2. 1) For Melinda and Aaron. And that they let me be a part of their wedding.

    2) For getting to say goodbye, both for the night and for two years, to Melinda with a big hug and many words just before we all lined up with sparklers to send them off.

    3) For a make-up putter-oner who didn’t back me against a wall and laugh with glee at my discomfort, unlike others I have known…

    4) For feeling genuinely included in something.

    5) For finally getting to take off the dress and make up and soon the hair spray.

Leave a Reply

