The Gratitude Initiative, Day 17

Scripture for the day:

Proverbs 3:13-18

13 Joyful is the person who finds wisdom,
the one who gains understanding.
14 For wisdom is more profitable than silver,
and her wages are better than gold.
15 Wisdom is more precious than rubies;
nothing you desire can compare with her.
16 She offers you long life in her right hand,
and riches and honor in her left.
17 She will guide you down delightful paths;
all her ways are satisfying.
18 Wisdom is a tree of life to those who embrace her;
happy are those who hold her tightly.

Some quotes from this day of Choosing Gratitude:

“I’ve heard wisdom described as “skill in everyday living.” And training our hearts to be grateful for the blessings of God that we experience is linked to our pursuit of godly wisdom in every area of our lives (196).”

“For most people, happiness is tied to circumstances. . .For Christians, however, happiness or blessedness is not dependent on the weather, the stock market, or how our last haircut turned out. Real happiness–that unshakable sense of peace, contentment, and well-being–comes as we remind ourselves of the blessings we have in Christ, and then respond with thankfulness (196).”

5 things for which I am grateful today:

1) The button which opens my driver’s side window fixed itself–it broke on Friday, and while I was able to remind myself to be grateful that the window was up when it broke, and that I have a sunroof, I lost about a pound of water weight on my 15 minute drive home. The fact that it fixed itself pleases me greatly.

2) I can’t even recall an evening growing up where we didn’t eat dinner as a family. There’s a website, letsfixdinner.com, that makes it pretty clear that this is increasingly become abnormal. The times I spent with my family around the dinner table, fork wrestling my dad to keep him out of my food and fighting with my brothers for the small spoons, as well as the hours of good conversation that occurred during and after meals, are precious memories to me.

3) The Word of God. It’s mind-blowing that God chooses to communicate with us in a way that can span cultures, time periods, etc.

4) Physical pain. Right now I’m rocking what may be a stress fracture, as well as something that feels like the flu. And while I’m not dancing for joy at being heavy-lidded and limping, I am grateful that because of the pain, I know that my body needs a break, and am not at risk of doing more extensive damage to it.

5) Technology that enables communication between myself and people I love-telephones, the USPS, email, and even Facebook.

All right, y’all: what are 5 things for which you are grateful today? And. . .go.

2 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 17

  1. Great quotes! Also I started laughing when I began reading your first one because I thought, “Wow, she’s getting desperate!” Once I continued it made sense tho. 😉

    1) Oh I will definitely be stealing your dinner one and for all the same reasons! (altho I was warding off fingers punctured thru sandwiches and fighting over The Wide Spoon).

    2) That momma kissing a boo boo actually DOES stop the tears! I thought this was a myth but Adelaide has proved to me otherwise. I just love what this says about our complexities, the weird and wonderful relationship between physical and feeling.

    3) God’s justice. It would be far too long to write out why this is on my mind today and why it makes me grateful but I am.

    4) Wisdom. Reading the passage and quotes above gave me a thrill of joy. I’ve seen the blessings of wisdom and most certainly the grief of foolishness which makes me VERY grateful for the former. And that He says He will give it to those who ask!

    5) For one more evening with Joel. Cheesy and cliché. But there is something special about that last night before you send your loved one away where you are both trying to express all the love, have all the fun and talk all the talk you will miss in the time you’re apart.

  2. 1) For getting to go to sleep last night at 10. (Which also entailed not writing this on the correct day.) ‘Twas necessary after a day of falling as well any and everywhere and time. Including but not limited to while waiting for webpages to load and the couch. One second I had decided to get up and check the thermostat temp and the next, or what seemed like the next, I was waking up from a dream.

    2) For a partial extended family dinner yesterday in anticipation of my departure.

    3) For my mom’s amazing coupons at Macy’s and for finding a $5 pair of pants that were way better than the more expensive ones I had bought before. That I still had the receipt for and the tag on.

    4) For not dying from another person’s misplaced road rage on the way home from Macy’s yesterday.

    5) For memory. That lets me remember points of gratitude from yesterday. His mercies may be new every morning but how would we know that if we didn’t have a whole slew of previous mornings to look back on?

Leave a Reply

