The Gratitude Initiative, Day 19

We have quite a smörgåsbord (WOW, check out THAT spelling, helpfully supplied by WordPress) of verses today, so buckle yourself in for a heavy dose of Pauline gratitude.

Romans 1:8

8 Let me say first that I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you, because your faith in him is being talked about all over the world.

1 Corinthians 1:4

4 I always thank my God for you and for the gracious gifts he has given you, now that you belong to Christ Jesus.

Ephesians 1:15-16

15 Ever since I first heard of your strong faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for God’s people everywhere, 16 I have not stopped thanking God for you. I pray for you constantly. . .

Philippians 1:3-4

3 Every time I think of you, I give thanks to my God. 4 Whenever I pray, I make my requests for all of you with joy. . .

Colossians 1:3-4

3 We always pray for you, and we give thanks to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. 4 For we have heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and your love for all of God’s people. . .

1 Thessalonians 1:2-3

2 We always thank God for all of you and pray for you constantly. 3As we pray to our God and Father about you, we think of your faithful work, your loving deeds, and the enduring hope you have because of our Lord Jesus Christ.

2 Thessalonians 1:3

3 Dear brothers and sisters, we can’t help but thank God for you, because your faith is flourishing and your love for one another is growing.

Paul was deeply thankful, despite his ministry struggles–and a lot of his thankfulness poured out to others. I know that I don’t offer my gratitude for all the lovely people in my life often enough. And I’m not going to “theme” this one, since I’ve already addressed some of the most important people in my life, and repeat gratitude is so last year (kidding, kidding). But it’s definitely food for thought. I think if I see a human being today, I’ll express gratitude, preferably not of the “thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for rescuing me from solitary confinement!” variety.

Anyway, on to my 5 gratitudes of the day.

1) That I’m single. I’ve kind of waffled on whether or not I’m allowed to be grateful for something that at least in part derives from my near-psychotic commitment phobia. Somehow it seems wrong for a future counselor to be grateful that her distorted view of the world is working out so well for her. But I am. Just don’t tell my clients about this when I push them to do something outside their comfort zones.

2) I have a washer and dryer in my house. When I lived in LA, my roommate and I would pile our laundry in baskets and carry it on our heads, ala women in National Geographic specials, to the laundromat down the street, where we would sit for hours waiting for our respective loads to get done. While watching gangbangers carefully folding their Spongebob boxers helped relieve me of any Blood-and-Crip-related fears, it was also kind of a hassle, and it’s nice to just run downstairs and use the washer and dryer whenever I want–and I’m only sharing with two other people, so I don’t have to worry about coming downstairs to find my still-damp laundry on the floor after some respect-devoid undergrad decided that her drying needs were clearly more pressing than mine own. Fact–I have forgiven. I will never forget.

3) I got 8 hours of sleep last night, and woke up before the early bird this morning. I not only got the worm, but I started my day off several hours ahead of schedule and rested. Oh happy day.

4) It’s been thunderstorming here on a nightly basis, the consequence of having a 98% humidity index all the time. I adore thunderstorms, and I love the coolness they leave behind.

5) Libraries. I want to give a medal to whomever it was who thought, “Hey, let’s make tons and tons of books accessible to everyone!” Dear original librarian: I love you and am forever in your debt.

And thank you for your prayers, everyone! I’m still not 100% well, but I am feeling leaps and bounds healthier than I was yesterday!

Ok, you’re up: For what 5 things are you grateful this fine day?

4 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 19

  1. I am grateful that you are doing this, Lauren, and grateful for a fun (I love your writing) push to be more grateful. I’m thankful for the PERFECTLY delicious peaches I got yesterday at the farm stand (it’s hard to find a good peach these days). I’m SO thankful that I can look outside most of my windows and see mostly trees or fields. And #5, thankful for the creative and exciting church (and the creative, exciting people of it) that God led us to.

  2. Paul was the only one who spoke about things like this too. “Thanksgiving” was rare in Biblical Greek; Paul’s expression of it was unique because he had a proper, unique view of God.

  3. 1) That the Lord helped me to cast my cares upon Him last night. He took them and in exchange, gave me a blissful and safe nights rest. Once again, I got the better end of the deal. 🙂

    2) Skype!!! Getting to have a live conversation between Virginia and Qatar is prettty amazing. And pretty wonderful when it’s your man on the other end.

    3) Mr. Anderson, a 90 year old veteran I make dinner for a couple times a week. Not only am I blessed to be a blessing, but he ever reminds me of how we are all truly like grass who spring up one day and wither the next.

    4) Books.

    5) That Adelaide pretty much knows the Lords Prayer by heart and LOVES to pray. Who knows whats going on in that little 2 and a half year old heart? God does and I bet it pleases HIS heart.

  4. I’m grateful that…

    1. Your blog exists and is updated so often during this Gratitude Initiative. And, one of my most-used news sites starts with L, A, … so every time I start typing the address, my browser thinks I want to go to the bookmark “Lauren W’s Blog.”

    2. I am, temporarily, working for a “really, really cool” division of the company I grew up hoping to work for. With nice people. And unique projects. And snacks.

    3. Cell phone minutes are free after 9:00, and there are people (that’s right, more than one!) on the opposite coast willing to talk to me at really inconvenient hours for them.

    4. Free cereal. Every day!

    5. Despite the paces I put it through each morning and afternoon on the LA freeways, my little Honda has yet to fail me once.

Leave a Reply

