The Gratitude Initiative, Day 21

Scripture for the day:

Proverbs 21:2-9

2 All a man’s ways seem right to him,
but the LORD weighs the heart.

3 To do what is right and just
is more acceptable to the LORD than sacrifice.

4 Haughty eyes and a proud heart,
the lamp of the wicked, are sin!

5 The plans of the diligent lead to profit
as surely as haste leads to poverty.

6 A fortune made by a lying tongue
is a fleeting vapor and a deadly snare.

7 The violence of the wicked will drag them away,
for they refuse to do what is right.

8 The way of the guilty is devious,
but the conduct of the innocent is upright.

9 Better to live on a corner of the roof
than share a house with a quarrelsome wife.

Ms. DeMoss wanted to highlight that last verse as an example of the power of the tongue. Whereas a quarrelsome person tears someone down, a grateful person builds others up, or something to that effect.

I am grateful for. . .

1) The fact that while ‘they’ are tearing down the woods around my house, and it breaks my heart and causes untold angst against ‘the man,’ they are doing so in order to build a school. And anyone who has ever heard of South Carolina’s politics or beauty queens is well aware that we need more schools. Hopefully ones stocked with maps that have ‘like such as the Iraq’ on them.

2) The fact that I was raised with such good money management principles that even with the errors I’ve made and am bound to make, I’m still better off than a lot of people (I just read through some of the testimonials from Dave Ramsey’s book, and my jaw was on the floor. $150,000 credit card debt? For a new car and a flat-screen TV?).

3) The song “Hey Soul Sister” by Train. I’ve listened to it maybe 35 times a day since I started this paper. For some reason, it just hits all the endorphin centers in my brain. I love it. (PS: I have no idea what the lyrics are. I am utterly lyric-deaf. If they’re absolutely terrible, I apologize for leading you astray, but don’t ruin it for me).

4) “Disappointed with God” by Philip Yancey. I read half of it yesterday when I was procrastinating on my paper writing. It’s not necessarily anything new, but it puts to words a lot of things I ponder a lot. I’ll do a review of it sometime next week, when I’m procrastinating on writing query letters.

5) Respectful men. I am so happy every time I can walk around a public place and not get looked over like a piece of steak. It doesn’t happen nearly often enough, but I’m so grateful when it does. It makes me want to hug those nice boys. Which would probably send the wrong message. So I don’t.

So what are you all grateful for today?

2 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 21

  1. 1) Ravi Zacharius. Profound, succinct, brilliant, godly. Love him.

    2) Isaiah 45:8. Beautiful and a great prayer for the world.

    3) That I get to be a stay at home mom. Honestly, I don’t know how other women manage missing all those little (and sometimes big) moments, those little daily nuances, the opportunity to invest in something undeniably worthwhile. Also, I absolutely love managing the home. It’s so fun to try and make this a haven for my family and anyone else who comes.

    4) Old journals. Specifically (narcissisitically?) mine. It’s encouraging to see where I’ve grown, motivation to see where I haven’t and, seriously, it’s a good reminder to continue with things I was/am passionate about! Humans are remarkably forgetful. Especially this human.

    5) To steal from your last one, that I am married to a respectful man. Even in Christian crowds, young men guarding their eyes has become nerdy. Even when it puts him in awkward positions or makes him a joke or means we can’t go certain places, he faithfully sticks it out. I can’t even express what this does to our trust, peace and joy with each other.

  2. 1) Being in Germany. In particular,Kandern. To be specific, Dani and Israel’s apt. Granted, I could be entirely precise and say the double couch in their living room but that would limit what I am thankful for in this regard when really it’s just that I’m here with them that I am specifically thankful for.

    2) For walking in the Black Forest.

    3) For walking in the Black Forest with a friend.

    4) For walking in the Black Forest with a friend in the midst of rain and thunder.

    5) For the prospect of doing so again today, maybe minus the rain and thunder this time though…

Leave a Reply

