The Gratitude Initiative, Day 23

Scripture reading for the day:

I Timothy 6: 6-10

6But godliness with contentment is great gain. 7For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. 8But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. 9People who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge men into ruin and destruction. 10For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.

Wow–those verses may take some extra pondering on my part.

My gratitudes for the day:

1) My ex-roommate Carole is back in town for the next two weeks. Carole is a lovely person, and I’m thankful to be able to hang with her one more time before she heads off to teach English in Bangladesh, like the awesome person that she is.

2) My 100% recycled green travel mug, which has been M.I.A. since December, mysteriously reappeared in our cupboards this week (I presume there’s been some spring cleaning going on around our house). It’s a tiny thing–but I had decided not to get another since this one only lasted two weeks, so the fact that it’s back means I can once again travel and mug at the same time, which is lovely. Plus, it helps me enact some of my decidedly hipster tendencies (note: I just wrote “hooker” instead of “hipster” because I had my mind on my infidelity-themed research paper. It made me laugh, and I’m really glad I caught it before posting).

3) Jamestown Coffee Co., the adorable, independent, locally owned coffee shop a few minutes down the road from me. I discovered it yesterday–and this is my second time here. I’m currently sitting at a beautiful wooden bar with a massive mug of coffee. If I had a beret and a pipe, I would feel like a real writer. I’m in love.

4) Used bookstores. There’s one down the road from me that I have refused to let myself go to until I finish my classes, and I am SO pumped. I still can’t get over one that was in Fort Wayne, Indiana, and had rolling ladders attached to the bookshelves, and a grey cat, and a clerk who used words like ‘filigree’ and on whom I had a profound vocabulary-based crush. And while I’m not sure I’ll ever find a used bookstore to compare, used bookstores are like children to me; there’s enough love in me for all of them.

5) Green smoothies–basically a vegetable/fruit blend, the recipe for which I’ll pose someday soon. Surprisingly delicious, though my roommates gag every time they see me making one. They (smoothies, not roommates) are especially delicious at the end of a run in our “heat index of 109” weather, and I look forward to eating one every time.

All right, y’all, you’re up: what are you grateful for today?

PS: 8 days left! To those of you who have been playing faithfully: well done and thank you.

To my dear subscribers, I am so sorry for the intense volume of spam you’d had to deal with over the last month. I promise I won’t be writing this manically after the challenge ends. Thanks for sticking with me.

3 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 23

  1. Yes, please post (or pose) the recipe. Sounds, em, interesting. Not sure if I’m brave enough for a green smoothie or not…

    Also, please send your e-address. I have an article to send you. Thanks!

  2. Just about to get in bed, going thru my day in my mind and realized I hadn’t done this. Booted up the comp and am sleepily typing my list….

    1) Hot tea. Earl Grey please.

    2) Growing up in Turkey. Shaped my world view… in a good way, I think.

    3) Getting to mow the yard today. It felt good to take care of something I put in the man’s catagory of chores. Even if I had to get help from the neighbor to assess that it was out of gas. Sheesh.

    4) Dr. Seuss. He and his books never cease to make me smile. I am reading a biography of his life currently, and read his childrens books daily to Adelaide who is a fellow fan.

    5) Getting a call from a girlfriend tonight about an AMAZING and random blessing from the Lord in her life! Gave me chills. Made me praise our doting Father in heaven.

Leave a Reply

