The Gratitude Initiative, Day 26

Day 26! We’ve been grateful for 26 days! My glee at that pronouncement makes it pretty clear how far gratitude is from my usual way of functioning. Good grief.

Scripture for the day:

Ezra 3:8-13

8 The construction of the Temple of God began in midspring, during the second year after they arrived in Jerusalem. The work force was made up of everyone who had returned from exile, including Zerubbabel son of Shealtiel, Jeshua son of Jehozadak and his fellow priests, and all the Levites. The Levites who were twenty years old or older were put in charge of rebuilding the Lord’s Temple. 9 The workers at the Temple of God were supervised by Jeshua with his sons and relatives, and Kadmiel and his sons, all descendants of Hodaviah. They were helped in this task by the Levites of the family of Henadad.

10 When the builders completed the foundation of the Lord’s Temple, the priests put on their robes and took their places to blow their trumpets. And the Levites, descendants of Asaph, clashed their cymbals to praise the Lord, just as King David had prescribed. 11 With praise and thanks, they sang this song to the Lord:

“He is so good!
His faithful love for Israel endures forever!”

Then all the people gave a great shout, praising the Lord because the foundation of the Lord’s Temple had been laid.

12 But many of the older priests, Levites, and other leaders who had seen the first Temple wept aloud when they saw the new Temple’s foundation. The others, however, were shouting for joy. 13The joyful shouting and weeping mingled together in a loud noise that could be heard far in the distance.

Unfortunately, I had to return Choosing Gratitude to the library today. So I’m not entirely sure what the underlying theme of today was supposed to be. Feel free to chime in with your own excellent theories and observations.

Today, I’m grateful for/that:

1) Rain. Despite my unfettered love of all things sun-related, I love being indoors on rainy days with a book and a cup of tea. I also love how lush and green everything is after a good rain. While at a stop light today I looked out my car window, and the grass on the road divider was so incredibly plush that I almost hopped out of my car and made a grass angel right then and there. Almost.

2) The little boy who went out of his way to hold the library door open for me. Chivalry in an 8 year old? I love the South.

3) Thrift stores. I used to be a lover of the factory-sealed and shiny new, but have developed (especially as my income has not) a love of the refurbished, recycled, and re-imagined. I need to develop a little more patience and rid myself of my shopping allergies before I can be considered a bona fide thrifter. But perhaps someday.

4) I am incredibly close to a variety of awesome touristy, culture-y, and artsy cities, such as Charleston, SC, Asheville, NC, and Savannah, GA;  I love exploring cool cities, and I’ve never been so close to so many awesome opportunities.

5) I just found the Newsies soundtrack on Grooveshark. Newsies was my first love. I must have seen it at least 23 times (and that’s a lowball estimate) between the ages of 8-14. Then I would dance around the house and pretend that I, too, was a newsboy who could sing and dance and fight injustice. I didn’t have many friends during that period of my life, for reasons that are quickly becoming clear to me. Regardless, the Newsies soundtrack still has the effect of making me entirely gleeful and motivated to fight injustice through song and dance while looking as entirely attractive as an itty bitty Christian Bale. Oh Disney, how could you deteriorate from Newsies to Hannah Montana?

So what about y’all? For what are you grateful for today?

2 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 26

  1. Ah! A fellow Newsies lover. My sisters and I would do the very same thing after watching! 🙂

    1) My sister Sarah! She came today with her sweet family and we have been having a blast! So many inside jokes, so little time.

    2) Edamame.

    3) My cousin Eric. He’s staying with us too… love that boy.

    4) Humor.

    5) Answers to prayer… AGAIN!

Leave a Reply

