The Gratitude Initiative, Day 27

Scripture for the day:

I Timothy 4:11-16

11 Teach these things and insist that everyone learn them. 12 Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity. 13 Until I get there, focus on reading the Scriptures to the church, encouraging the believers, and teaching them.

14 Do not neglect the spiritual gift you received through the prophecy spoken over you when the elders of the church laid their hands on you. 15 Give your complete attention to these matters. Throw yourself into your tasks so that everyone will see your progress. 16 Keep a close watch on how you live and on your teaching. Stay true to what is right for the sake of your own salvation and the salvation of those who hear you.

Excuse me while I wallow in some conviction. . .

I really like verse 16, “Stay true to what is right for the sake of your own salvation and the salvation of those who hear you.” Such a good reminder that sanctification is a part of salvation just as much as justification (hey, look at me, throwing around somewhat incomprehensible theological terms like I know what I’m talking about!).

Anyway, here’s my attempt to work out my salvation with some gratitude:

1) Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I lost my passion for cooking the day the heat index hit 100 degrees. Until it goes down, I’m living on PB&J, and I had forgotten how excellent it is; delicious, quick, and the perfect lunch to take to the library, where I stick my whole head in my bag while eating to keep the librarians from noticing. Subtlety is the best policy.

2) Ibuprofen. I normally prefer to sweat out fever/flu/death without the stuff, but two weeks into this vague and annoying sickness, I’m sucking on the stuff like it’s candy.

3) Cleanliness. Since turning in my paper and seeing the beginning of the end of Hermeneutics, I’ve begun overhauling my cluttered and dirty life. I had forgotten how much I enjoy the sight and smell of ‘clean.’

4) Radio. I don’t buy music very often, and it’s nice to have the radio to listen to, instead of the CDs I bought in my teenage angst years. (Have you noticed how many of my ‘gratitudes’ are about free/cheap stuff? Yeah, me too).

5) Encouragement from family, friends, the Word. I can’t imagine where I would be without the constant support of the lovely people I have in my life.

So what are you grateful for today?

2 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 27

  1. Sorry I have not been posting! I am making it a daily habit to give thanks and it feels SO much better to give thanks than grumble.

    1. seeing my daughter playing so sweetly with her cousin.
    2. graham cracker and cool whip frozen with a little dab of caramel sauce.
    3. chicken soft tacos.
    4. my hubby just walking in the door:)
    5. right now I am thankful for spring and fall.

  2. 1) My nephew Sam who has been entertaining Adi to no end the past couple days! He is so fun and well behaved.

    2) My niece Selah Joy who lives up to her name… she is a JOY!

    3) TV. (yesyes, in moderation/carefully/sparingly/prayerfully). Its taught Adi the alphabet, it gives me 20 minutes to catch up on house work(ok, and FB) and can be a wealth of information! (PBS World!!!) . And it’s got Wipe Out.

    4) That I was home-schooled. I’m not in the camp that thinks its home or hell, but for me, it might have been. God (thru my parents) spared me years of temptations and influence I doubt I, with my personality and bent, would have been able to resist.

    5) North’s birthday party tonight! It was loud, messy and he had absolutely no idea what was going on, but I truly enjoyed celebrating my little man’s special time.

Leave a Reply

