The Gratitude Initiative, Day 28

Scripture for the day:

Philippians 1:3-11

Paul’s Thanksgiving and Prayer

3 Every time I think of you, I give thanks to my God. 4 Whenever I pray, I make my requests for all of you with joy, 5 for you have been my partners in spreading the Good News about Christ from the time you first heard it until now. 6 And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.

7 So it is right that I should feel as I do about all of you, for you have a special place in my heart. You share with me the special favor of God, both in my imprisonment and in defending and confirming the truth of the Good News. 8 God knows how much I love you and long for you with the tender compassion of Christ Jesus.

9 I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. 10 For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return. 11 May you always be filled with the fruit of your salvation—the righteous character produced in your life by Jesus Christ—for this will bring much glory and praise to God.

“May you always be filled with the fruit of your salvation.” How’s that for a life goal in a nutshell?

Things for which I am grateful today:

1) Good literature. I have spent the past two days immersed in such works as The Book Thief, The Brothers Karamazov, and The End of Education, by Markus Zusak, Dostoevsky, and Neil Postman, respectively.

2) The patience and support of my parents. I would be an utter failure at this “adult” thing if I couldn’t call them up most hours of day or night and weep and wail and rend my garments and pour ashes on my head while they look on in patient amusement.

3) The health food store right down the road. I love going there and just wandering around the aisles. They think I’m a bit mad. But it’s ok–they’re health food store owners, and as such can be assumed to be bit mad themselves.

4) Thanks to being persistently sick and mostly housebound, I’ve saved a ton of gas money over the past few weeks. I’ve also lost about 10 pounds in about a week and a half. (Note: this is an incredibly unhealthy rate at which to lose weight. I do not espouse this as a good weight loss tool. I’m just trying to find a silver lining here).

5) I’ve actually accomplished a bit in terms of my “real” writing over the past couple days. It’s nice to see articles, query letters, and dreams taking shape, if slowly and imperfectly.

Just a few more days, y’all! What are you grateful for?

3 thoughts on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 28

  1. 1) A great outing with my sister and her kids! I got bonding time with Sam which is excellent since I don’t get to see him but about once a year. 😦

    2) Turkish breakfast (well, as close as I can get)!!!

    3) Scripture memory. That I was taught it early and continued to run in circles where it was encouraged (if not mandated). What an amazing resource to have hidden in your heart!

    4) Goodwill and other Thrift Stores

    5) My brother in law, JJ. I left him out yesterday, but I AM grateful for him. Especially since he has been serenading us on the piano since he got here. He’s earned his room and board for sure.

  2. 1. I read this quote this morning: “The grass is a lways greener where you water and fertilize it. And being thankful –really intentionally listing out things for which we are thankful– is a great way to start watering and fertilizing and changing everything.” Lysa TerKeurst http://lists.proverbs31.org/lt/t_go.php?i=617&e=NjQ5MDE=&l=-http–www.proverbs31.org/speakingministry/speakerteam/LysaTerKeurst.php

    Being intentionally thankful has changed my life. Period. I am not the same person I was a month ago. God, He works like that;P

    2. Thankful that even though I kind of lost my cool with my kiddos yesterday, I caught a glimpse of them asleep on each other in the back seat of the car. The sun was setting and I could see the beautiful children He has blessed me with. Truly a gift from the Lord.

    3. My niece, Kate. She rocks. She is six years old and decided to give her “old” American Doll to Lawson so she could have one(cause momma wasn’t going to spend $100 on a doll.) Then we took the girls to the store and to see their faces and excitement over dolls was so sweet.

    4. Ok, I am going to say this: “I am so thankful school is about to start for my kiddos.” They love school. I love my time away because it makes me appreciate them more….I am a better momma FO SURE.

    5. I trust God. Even though life is hard, I love my life that He has so graciously given me. I treasure all He has blessed me with….even the yucky, hard stuff. There I said it. I love my life. Thank you, Lord. Thank you.

    Lauren, I hope you feel better! Please, please go to the Dr. if you don’t feel better, K? Not that I am your momma or anything….but you might need to get checked out;)

    1. Allison, I love that quote. I may have to write it down as a good reminder.
      And thanks for the encouragement! I keep thinking, “Oh, I’ll be better tomorrow.” But I think it might be time to actively pursue being better tomorrow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

