The Gratitude Initiative, Day 29

Scripture for the day:

Deuteronomy 6

A Call for Wholehearted Commitment

“These are the commands, decrees, and regulations that the Lord your God commanded me to teach you. You must obey them in the land you are about to enter and occupy, 2 and you and your children and grandchildren must fear the Lord your God as long as you live. If you obey all his decrees and commands, you will enjoy a long life. 3 Listen closely, Israel, and be careful to obey. Then all will go well with you, and you will have many children in the land flowing with milk and honey, just as the Lord, the God of your ancestors, promised you.

4 “Listen, O Israel! The Lord is our God, the Lord alone. 5 And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength. 6 And you must commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these commands that I am giving you today. 7 Repeat them again and again to your children. Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up. 8 Tie them to your hands and wear them on your forehead as reminders. 9 Write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.

10 “The Lord your God will soon bring you into the land he swore to give you when he made a vow to your ancestors Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. It is a land with large, prosperous cities that you did not build. 11 The houses will be richly stocked with goods you did not produce. You will draw water from cisterns you did not dig, and you will eat from vineyards and olive trees you did not plant. When you have eaten your fill in this land, 12 be careful not to forget the Lord, who rescued you from slavery in the land of Egypt.

That last verse–well, let’s just say that my memory is the worst, even about regular, day-to-day life. When it comes to spiritual realities, the thing is like a sieve. And that’s about all the thoughts I’m able to procure on this passage for today. “Stop forgetting.”

Things for which I am grateful today:

1) My big ol’ kitchen and the fact that I have all kinds of great pots and pans and things because people keep getting married, getting new stuff, and giving me their old stuff. It’s a great system.

2) Indoor plumbing. I am so serious.

3) Mutual school-related ‘suffering’ and empathy. The only way I’ve gotten through some of my homework assignments this year is by bemoaning said assignments with my roommate or fellow classmates.

4) My New Living translation of the Bible. I know it’s not what the scholarly muckety-mucks would use, but as a lowly English speaking sinner, I very much appreciate it.

5) Having 3 grocery stores within 5-7 minutes of my house. After four years spent living 20-25 minutes from the nearest Walmart, I definitely appreciate it.

One thought on “The Gratitude Initiative, Day 29

  1. 1) How brave Adelaide was today at the beach! I’m grateful to see her as a secure, independent and bold girl… looking forward to seeing these traits develop into usage for His kingdom (not just for facing waves).

    2) In Christ Alone. Amazing song that brings me to a heart of worship and awe every time I hear or sing it.

    3) Thunder. I can never quite relate to songs/poems/etc. that use metaphors involving darkness, rain and storms to equate hard times and sadness. These things have quite the opposite connotations for me.

    4) Sleeping with North last night. Even tho his little feet kept finding my rib cage, hearing his sweet little breathing and waking up right next to that soft skin is something I’m 100% grateful for. 🙂

    5) That God is enough. After Sarah and her family left tonight, I started missing them and the rest of my family that is so far away from me right now. After a few minutes of moping, the Lord gently swept in and reminded me, “the LORD shall provide all your needs”!!! Gosh, I love Him.

Leave a Reply

