Making a Quick Recovery

Another day, another rejected job application.

My morning started off in Matthew 6:25-34, Psalm 27, Psalm 34, and Job 38. I particularly focused on verse 32 of Matthew 6, “. . .your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.” As I was thinking about this verse, I had to pray myself into a place of peace with the knowledge that God knows my needs–and can differentiate them from my ‘wants’ better than I am able.

In any case, I had just finished my Bible reading when I got an email from the supervisor of a job I had pretty much counted on. I didn’t get the job.

I cried like the scared little girl I am. I’ve felt consistently defeated on the job front since moving to Columbia.

But my professor in Human Growth and Development this summer really stressed the idea of “quick recoveries,” of acknowledging your disappointment and hurt and then picking yourself up and moving on.

So I’m making a quick recovery.

I’m disappointed.

I’m confused.

I’m hurt.

I want to move to Denver.

But now that I’ve acknowledged all of the above, I need to combat my propensity toward self-pity and turn this into a chance to glorify God with the following resolutions:

  • I will not be angry with God. God didn’t and doesn’t owe me this.
  • I will not be envious of others who have lives that are apparently happier or smoother than my own. I don’t necessarily have the whole story, and even if I do, their happiness doesn’t detract from my own quality of life. I will, in fact, actively rejoice with and for them.
  • I will trust. God knows what I need. It’s looking as though it won’t be what I want, but I will choose to trust that what I need from an eternal perspective is more important than what I want in this season.
  • I will be grateful for what I have.
  • I will have a good attitude, no matter how many applications get turned down, and even if I end up with a job taking care of the pain-in-the-butt kids of the Real Housewives of Columbia, SC.
  • I will cultivate the ability to enjoy life exactly as it is, instead of feeling frustrated by what it isn’t.
  • I will find a way to enjoy the process. At the moment this involves drinking Turkish tea and listening to the soundtrack ofย Lagaan: Once Upon a Time in India while filling out job applications, thus staving off boredom, frustration, and self-pity.
  • I will not worry. Period.
  • I will pray as constantly as I can, because I can’t do all the above with the easy flip of an attitude switch.

‘Quick’ may be a misnomer for this particular recovery plan, but the hope is that by applying these principles regularly and often during times of disappointment, they will eventually become the default to which I return each time disappointment sets in.

Many thanks to those of you who have been so encouraging to me and praying for me during this season. You are appreciated!

8 thoughts on “Making a Quick Recovery

  1. I’m so sorry – I’m praying that the eternal perspective is in the forefront!

    ALSO! – you made me really smile when you said you were listening to Lagaan – I watched it on Friday! I love it – watched it a few too many times, though, as I can say most of the lines, and they aren’t even in a language I can understand!

  2. Hugs, Lauren!! I’ve been there (in a different form), when Kevin went four years without a permanent job. It turned out to be one of the most wonderful opportunities for climbing to a new level of trust in the Father. I found during that time that He wants to care for His children more than we often think He does, or more than we allow Him to. He also knew my skewed perspective on things and He used that difficult time to straighten it out a little…to get a more heavenly perspective…to start learning what this means: “Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you.” John 6:27. Praying for you in your journey, which of course will be different than mine, and I look forward to hearing what you learn of Him while you climb.
    (I like that “quick recovery” idea. That’s good for a wallower like me. Thanks for sharing all of this!)

  3. I found your blog from the Faithwriters blog. Thanks for the encouraging post — I’ve been having lots of pity parties lately. Actually more like pity festivals. That long list of reminders was exactly what I needed. Good luck with your job hunt.

    1. Thank you so much for commenting, Ivy. I am so glad when my struggles can be useful to others! I also happen to admire you in particular from what I have seen of you on the Dream World Collective. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Aww, thanks. You’re making me blush. But my blog is kind of useless. I don’t really encourage anyone or post any deep thoughts. So good job.

Leave a Reply

