Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

Tonight I skimmed through my old blog from my high school and undergraduate years, looking for ideas that might translate well to book format and covering my face with shame as I read posts rife with “lols” and the inane comments of a drama-loving 15-year-old. I will never be one of those people who idealizes youth, for when I was a youth, I thought like a youth and blogged like a youth. And yes, I realize that at this point in my life I’m just a poignantly awkward 23-year-old–so you can well imagine how horrific the 15-year-old version of me was.

Ah, humility, you’re starting to set in already.

I did, however, find some choice posts from my latter years, and this one made me snort water up my nose, so I thought you might appreciate it. I believe it was posted in the September ’08, courtesy of a junior-higher. Enjoy.

My roommate Jules is student teaching this semester, so she brings home a gold mine of notes she has confiscated from unruly students. Tonight, she brought home this gem (I apologize for my inability to reproduce some of the original smudges):

“I am sory But I have to Brake up with you or I will Diy from doing sumething I do not want to do. I am so cumfused. I want to go out with you but I do not. SO I want to brake up with you.”

2 thoughts on “Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

  1. Oh man, I still remember that little guy’s face when I snatched the note from him…and the way his little hellion of an ex-girfriend acted towards him for the next month. Thanks for reminding me of those days! I actually reference this note quite a bit when I’m giving my commentary (based on zero experience, of course) of timidity and the resulting miscommunication in romantic relationships. Sometimes 12-year-olds are a lot smarter than we give them credit for–though their spelling is no reflection of this!

    1. Jules, I have never been privileged to hear said commentary. Would you like to write a guest post on my blog? I would love to hear/read it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

