“Guard Well Your Spare Moments”

Today, while perusing the website of memoir writer Nathan Whitaker in hopes of picking up some hints (unfortunately, his site is bereft of any pieces entitled, “How to Write a Memoir”), I came across this quote:

“Guard well your spare moments. They are like uncut diamonds. Discard them and their value will never be known. Improve them and they will become the brightest gems in a useful life.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Oh, Ralph. You say exactly what has been on the tip of my brain for the past two years, in a much less eloquent format.

I am a notorious spare moment squanderer, and the state of having been walloped by conviction doth not a good advice column writer make.

So I’m turning the floor over to you, readers*. Do you take any active steps to guard your spare moments? Would you like to guard some of mine? And do you have any advice for those of us who don’t have the time to go to a Time Squanderers Anonymous meeting?

Also feel free to simply write about what you wish you did in your spare moments. We can have a little e-funeral for all the dreams we are watching slip away as we watch Youtube videos and troll Facebook to see pictures of our ex-crush’s ex-girlfriend’s second baby.

*I find it very amusing that the more I beg for advice on this blog, the more reticent people are to grant it. This seems to be the exact opposite of real life, in which people scurry about dispensing unwanted advice like fairy dust. Perhaps they are only willing to speak to situations in which they know they have no business? If that is your personal hang-up, let me assure you–my life and your business do not overlap; they are, in fact, extraordinarily dissimilar entities. Now please advise.

6 thoughts on ““Guard Well Your Spare Moments”

  1. I wish I used my spare moments to write letters to people I care about, painstakingly handcraft gifts for all the babies in my life, and/or make random strangers’ days just a little bit shinier.

    My advice for you: wallow in guilt for being a time-waster, but never change anything. It’s worked for me for years.

  2. When I’m stuck in a situation and have to be somewhere thought I’m not doing anything, happens a lot in this country, I try to pray and not lose time.

    1. I used to do this (ok, for the space of about two hours). I think my problems with it came up because I would always forget to bring them with me. Perhaps I should put them in my phone or some other device without which I never stir. . .my wheels are turning!

Leave a Reply

