I’ll beg a little prayer from you. . .

I wish I had some great insights to excuse this post and not look as though I’m just milking empathy, but in the midst of a handful of spiritual, personal, and family crises/struggles, that’s exactly what I’m doing. I simply don’t have it in me right now to try to entertain or write any broadly applicable posts.

The past three to four weeks have been a vortex of emotional suck.

I’m sad.

I’m confused.

I’m scared.

I’m weary. Some of this shiz has been going down for a long, long time. I know Alexander Pope says hope springs eternal, but this girl’s might have an expiration date.

I covet your prayers.

(I’m sorry for this post’s vagueness. I refuse to process anything in ‘public’ that I haven’t already processed with actual human beings, but I wanted to update you all for the sake of authenticity as well as some shameless prayer pandering).

4 thoughts on “I’ll beg a little prayer from you. . .

  1. Lauren, I’m praying for you and for your family after the loss of your grandfather and regarding any other difficulties you may be facing right now. Wish I could talk to you in person. Praying you will be able to persevere through all the crud and come out the other side stronger and wiser.

  2. There’s one simple idea that helps me when I’m struggling, with either my own limitations or life in general. You will never suddenly ‘find yourself’- you can only create yourself. And it will take a lifetime to know whether or not you achieved it. So don’t beat yourself up too badly in the short-term, just make baby steps in the right direction. God has a plan, even if we don’t understand it.

  3. Praying for you! My Deepest Sympathy & Love, Denise

    The Serenity Prayer

    God grant Lauren the serenity
    to accept the things she cannot change
    courage to change the things she can
    and wisdom to know the difference.

    Living one day at a time;
    Enjoying one moment at a time;
    Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
    Taking, as He did, this sinful world
    as it is, not as she would have it;
    Trusting that He will make all things right
    if she surrender to His Will;
    That she may be reasonably happy in this life
    and supremely happy with Him
    Forever in the next.
    Amen.

    –Reinhold Niebuhr

Leave a Reply

