Gratitude Initiative 2.0

I’ve started new posts multiple times this month, but just can’t seem to get around to actually pinning down the thoughts tumbling through my mind of late. I’m processing a lot, and I’m excited to share someday when things settle for me a bit.

In the meantime, however, something must be done to keep me from getting caught up in the negativity and self-pity that often results from too much time spent processing one’s own and others’ pain.

So I’m reviving the Gratitude Initiative. My long-term readers will remember that it started with this post in July 2010 and involved a 30-day challenge to myself and my readers to come up with 5 different things each day for which to be grateful.

It was awesome and perspective-altering.

I want to play again.

Because of time constraints, I’m not going to be as hard-core as I was about it that July; these posts will be of the short and sweet variety, and may or may not include Scripture, depending on whether or not there are points in my day when I am simultaneously near my Bible and computer.

But once again, you all are welcome to play with me, by commenting on here, keeping your own personal journal, or just thinking throughout the day of reasons you can be grateful. Trust me: it’s worth the 5 seconds of brain power.

So here goes. . .The Gratitude Initiative, 2.0, is officially open for business.

Day One:

1) The people in my life. I’ll probably delineate specifics in the next 30 days, but I’m honestly overwhelmed by the caliber of people who surround me on a daily basis. I don’t deserve them, they realize it, and they still accept me. It blows my mind.

2) School. I’m a Class A nerd, and getting to spend my days (and. . .er. . .nights) learning and figuring out the world just thrills me.

3) My bed. I have a queen-size now, which I’ve never had in my life; and I’m rapidly figuring out ways to contort my body in such a way that I take full advantage of it. It’s beautiful.

4) My parents. They are wonderful people, and have consistently shown me love and support, especially during this season in which I’ve reached the limits of my independence. They personify grace in my life. I want to be them both when I grow up.

5) Grace. As a born-and-raised Christian, not to mention a textbook goody-two-shoes, I haven’t had to spend much time facing my own sin. This has been addressed in a variety of ways lately, which I hope to write about in more detail later. . .but in the meantime, I’m so thankful for that abundant grace I so desperately need.

Alright, y’all, your turn! Go get your grateful on. It seriously has the potential to change your life.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude Initiative 2.0

  1. Grateful that God’s mercies are new every morning.
    Thankful for people who are on the other end of the phone when I call them at midnight (thankfully it was 3 p.m. their time!)
    So happy that the weather has been fairly nice in the Black Forest this late summer/early fall.
    Appreciate friends who are willing to speak truth into my life (pointing out my pride).
    Thankful that the Lord is stretching me (iron sharpens iron) through my co-workers.

  2. Thankful for new opportunies for an old (or at least the high end of middle aged) lady.

    Thankful for my encouraging and faithful husband. What a blessing!

    Thankful that all God’s promises are true–particularly the ones for strength which I have been finding to be true during a busy season of life.

    Thankful for airconditioning through 70 days of 100 degree weather!

    Thankful for the Father, who makes life worth living and eternity worth looking forward to.

Leave a Reply

