Gratitude Initative 2.0, Day 4

Grateful today for:

1) Freedom of speech. I read an article on CNN.com yesterday about drug cartels in Mexico murdering two people as a threat to bloggers and social networkers who are denouncing said cartels. I can’t imagine living in a state of constant fear just because I posted an opinion online.

2) The advent of autumn. I actually had to run in sweatshirt this morning, because it was so breezy cool here. I can’t wait to bust out the apple cider, apple butter, pumpkin spice creamer. . .I love everything fallish.

3) Nature. I love nature and its soul-restorative properties. I’m so grateful that Creation, even fallen, is so mind-blowingly beautiful. God is so good to allow traces of beauty and goodness to remain in a world that is so different than what He created it to be.

4) This morning was one of the best of 2011 to date, a perfect blend of relaxation and stimulation, including as it did a run, impromptu breakfast date, time spent with roommates, coffee, Bible study, and plenty of upbeat guilty-pleasure style music.

5) Opportunity. My impromptu breakfast date with one of my roommates was to McDonalds, because nothing is more logical after a workout than getting your artery clog on. While there, I studied the wide range of people represented, from the businessman with three coffees sitting across from me to the homeless man with half a coffee sitting next to me to the workers cleaning up spilled coffee around me (coffee was a big theme of my morning). It served as a poignant reminder to me that I was born into a position of relative privilege in the world, yielding me a world of rich opportunities of which many other people in the world would not dare to dream. It also served as a visual call to my heart to utilize my position to ensure that others are given similar chances. Blessings hoarded are blessings squandered.

Your turn. What are you grateful for today?

Leave a Reply

