Christmas Break Reading List

Break is two weeks away. Two. 2. TWO!!!! My brain has either stopped registering the cortisol hormone or stopped producing it altogether. I’m impervious to stress, which also, unfortunately, means that I’m an impenetrable fortress against all attempts at achievement. Life involves many such trade-offs, I suppose.

So, instead of doing anything scholastically productive, I’m planning out my reading schedule over break. Yes. I read on a schedule. Nerdiness: it’s a calling.

1) “The Cello Suites: J. S. Bach, Pablo Casals, and the Search for a Baroque Masterpiece.”

Author: Eric Siblin

Selected because: I started reading this little gem over Thanksgiving break, courtesy of my insanely musical older brother. I had no intention of getting into it; it looked somewhat dry and way over my far-less-musical head. But I was hooked after the first chapter, and have been counting down the days until I get to finish it. A reviewer (‘tova’) on Amazon sums the book up well: “This book is a wonderfully crafted combination of biography, history, musicology, detective story and personal discovery. . . .It’s neither a heavy tome nor a heavy read but it is nourishing entertainment.”

Seriously, do yourself a favor and pick this book up if you get a chance.

  2) “A Severe Mercy.”

Author: Sheldon Vanauken

Reason: This little book has been on my ‘to read’ list for ages now. I know nothing about it, except that C.S. Lewis is somehow involved in the thing, which means I have to read it if I ever hope to have relevance in the Christian college student culture. . .you know, the one I’ll be leaving in May.

 

3) “Margin: How to Create the Emotional, Physical, Financial, and Time Reserves You Need.” 

Author: Richard A. Swenson

Chosen because: I apparently still believe that reading a book about giving yourself margin equates to actually acting upon the principles found therein. Ah, the optimism and insanity of youth.

4) “The God of All Comfort.”

Author: Hannah Whitall Smith

Reason: A lot of the quotes I’ve read that have been attributed to this woman indicate that she may be the bombdiggatizzle. Time to find out.

5) “Lilith.”

Author: George MacDonald.

Selected: . . .at the recommendation of many of my ‘read-y’ friends. I trust their judgment, and really wanted a fun-but-not-garbage (hello, chick lit) read to give my mind a bit of a rest. This is my literary dessert for the break.

6) “The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment.”

Author: Jeremiah Burroughs

Reason: From what I hear, this is one of the most significant hidden treasures of Christian literature. Everyone I’ve ever known who has read it has recommended it enthusiastically. Furthermore, in reading it I may or may not be working on a specific character issue with which I deal; but I don’t want to say much more. . .don’t want to be indiscreet, or anything.

There are a few more I’d like to get around to, but I suppose I need to leave time to eat and sleep and hang out with my family, too. So there you have it, folks. My break in literary form. Y’all have any fun holiday goals/plans?

4 thoughts on “Christmas Break Reading List

  1. Looks like a great list. The only one I’ve read is Severe Mercy (a long time ago). Have enjoyed Hannah Smith. I believe some feel her theology is questionable, but she is a good practical writer (also read when I was in H.S. or college)….Happy reading! Are you familiar with the Anatomy of the Soul (good brain based stuff). May be too professional reading-ish for Christmas.

    1. I haven’t heard of Anatomy of the Soul, but I’ll definitely check it out, especially now that break has come and gone. 🙂 I didn’t get to Hannah Smith, but did finish A Severe Mercy, and LOVED it, though I think I have to read it again to grasp the full extent of its’ weight. Do you remember what your thoughts on it were?

  2. Lilith as dessert…? Wow haha. I don’t think I’ve ever heard that before. Have fun anyway. Those books all sound awesome. I want to re-read Dombey and Son or one of my other obscure Dickens books. We’ll see if I have enough free time in my extremely busy social schedule.

    1. Well, Ivy, I never got around to Lilith. So no ‘dessert’ for me. Did you get to re-read any of yours? Do tell about these obscure Dickens books. He’s one of my favorites!!

Leave a Reply

