We gonna party like it’s my birthday

I’m 26 years old today.

As I think back on the past 26 years, I can’t help but be overwhelmed by how phenomenal they’ve been. Not always easy, but always so, so rich.

And that, in large part, is due to you, dear friends.

The more I rub shoulders with people in this world, the more I realize that I’ve been surrounded by the cream of the social crop since birth. From my sweet family to the missions community in which I grew up, to the family of friends I’ve miraculously been able to develop with each new season of life—I am blown away by the privilege and blessing it is to have each of you in my life and be able to call you friends.

It still blows me mind that the Lord has always provided me with a community of lovely people who call me on my crap, see strengths in me where I can’t, and love me through everything from my overly dramatic emotionality to the moments when common sense eludes me entirely and I try things like eating unidentified pills off the floor of a community kitchen to see what happens, because THAT seems like a good idea never.

So today, though I’m “supposed” to be celebrated (for reasons I’ve never been able to understand–goodness knows I was less involved in my birthing process than pretty much everyone else in the room), I want to make sure that the credit of me having survived and thrived during the last 26 years goes to y’all—you who cry with me when I’m sad, laugh with me when I’m joyful, stick with me when I am cranky and overcommitted and don’t love you well at all. . .thank you. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for letting me play a tiny role in your life, and thank you for giving of your time and energy and love to greatly enrich mine.

I don’t have words to describe how grateful I am for you. You are the reason I can celebrate the last 26 years and embrace the next, and I am immeasurably blessed by you.

One thought on “We gonna party like it’s my birthday

Leave a Reply

